Kentucky law requires all vehicles purchased in another state to be inspected by the Sheriff in the county where the vehicle is to be licensed.

WHY DO I NEED AN INSPECTION?
An out of state inspection is only required when a vehicle is brought into Kentucky from another state or purchased in another state, and whereas the owner is going to reside in Jefferson County, and would like to obtain a Jefferson County license plate. Your vehicle must comply with the provisions of KRS Chapter 189 pertaining to vehicle equipment. Simply put, your vehicle must be in a safe condition for operation upon the highway and capable of transporting both persons and contents in a safe manner. This would include, but not be limited to, the brakes, steering, headlights, rear lights, brake lights, and turn signals being in place and fully operable. Additionally, all window glass must be in place and the vehicle must be equipped with operable front windshield wipers. Tinting on front door windows is not less than 35%.

WHAT WILL BE INSPECTED?
A Jefferson County Deputy Sheriff, certified in vehicle inspections, will check the vehicle identification number (VIN) and compare it with the number on the Title or Certificate of Origin. This information, along with the vehicle’s mileage, is recorded on a Kentucky Application for Certificate of Title/Registration Form. You must take this completed form to the County Clerk to obtain your Kentucky license plate. The inspector may also check the vehicle for all safety features, including lights, wipers, horn, turn signals, glass, brakes, tires, exhaust, etc.

 

 

Property Taxes
Sex Offender Search
Criminal Division
     Process Unit
     Warrants / EPOs
     Auto Inspections
     Evictions
Court Security
Community Services
School Resource Officers
Concealed Deadly Weapons
Reserve Unit - Volunteer
Prescription Drug Disposal
 
 
Command Staff
History
Mission & Ethics Statements
Internal Affairs
Employment
Links
 
Home
 

WHAT IS THE COST?
The fee for an inspection is $5.00 cash or check only - sorry, no credit cards. For businesses that have 2 or more vehicles to be inspected, we can come to you but there will also be a trip fee charge of $10.00.

What do I need to Bring?
 Vehicle Title
 Your Drivers License
 $5.00 (cash or check only, Local Banks Preferred)

Please note: The above requirements apply primarily to automobiles, trucks and motorcycles that have been in good working condition, considered roadworthy under KRS, and have been previously registered in another state.

Please call any of the following numbers with questions about salvage titles, golf carts, scooters, trailers, mopeds etc., as often there are specific requirements for specific vehicles that fall outside of the usual out of state transfer and registration.


5 INSPECTION LOCATIONS

DOWNTOWN
810 West Market St.

(Towards rear of building - enter off Market St.)
M-F 8:30 - 4:30
Ph: (502) 574-5085
 
  SOUTH WEST
4919 Dixie Hwy.

(County Clerk’s Office - rear of building)
M 10:30 - 6:30
T-F 8:30 - 4:30
Ph: (502) 448-8976
     
SOUTH
10616 W Manslick Rd

(County Clerk's Office)
Tues 10:30 - 6:30
M-W-TH-F 8:30 - 4:30
(502) 368-3294
  EAST
9451 Westport Rd.  Suite 117

(County Clerk’s Office)
M-T-TH-F 8:30 - 4:30
WED. - 10:30 - 6:30
Ph: (502) 425-0365
 
  CENTRAL
7813 Beulah Church Rd

(County Clerk's Office)
Mon 10:30 - 6:30
T-F 8:30 - 4:30
(502) 231-3167
 

* Update: Large trucks can now be inspected at any location.

Drive Safely and please Buckle Up
 

 
© 2013 Jefferson County Sheriff's Office Home | Contacts | Site Map | Links