Property Tax

The Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office is the primary property tax collector for state, metro, Louisville district, school, fire, and other special district taxes. We collect approximately 790 million dollars per year, from over 300 thousand tax payers, for 20 different taxing jurisdictions.

Property Tax Payment Schedule

Date Detail
November 1st - December 1st Pay with 2% discount
December 2nd - December 31st Pay at Face (Gross) Amount
January 1st - January 31st Pay with 5 Percent Penalty
February 1st - April 15th Pay with 10 Percent Penalty and 10% Sheriff’s add-on fee

At the close of business day on April 15, all unpaid tax bills will be transferred to the Jefferson County Clerk for further collection proceedings. Additional costs, fees, and interest are added after this date and the bills may be subject to sale to a third-party.